The Autism Discriminative Tool or ADT is a second level autism screening tool for use by specialists such as child psychiatrists/neurologists/psychologists...or any team in contact with toddlers at risk of neurodevelopmental disorders. It is one of the first intrument to be based on the DSM-5 and its new ASD criterias. Particularly detailed, it targets preschoolers deemed “at risk” for autism spectrum disorders.

Description

The ADT is composed of 35 items based on the presence or absence of specific behaviours. Twenty-six items are considered critical and used for screening purposes. The ADT is to be completed by mainstream nursery school teachers but remains scored and interpreted by second level child specialists (e.g. child neurologists/psychiatrists). Nonetheless, in the absence of a reference doctor, the ADT can also be used by paramedicals (e.g. psychologists), child prevention/protection teams, (school) mental health services or any other services in contact with children presenting an atypical development. Fast and easy to use, the ADT informs clinicians about the necessity to address children at risk of ASD to specialised diagnostic teams. In the countries where no screening process exists, the ADT can be used by autism diagnostic teams to quickly evaluate the relevance of multidiscipinary assessment or determine assessment priorities. 

Development

The ADT results from several years of research within the context of a Ph.D programme at the Université Libre de Bruxelles. It was created in response to the lack of effective ASD screening in many European countries. Its validation started with an exploratory study, followed by a prospective multicentric study. This latter included a sample of 126 children waiting for a diagnostic assessment in 3 Belgian and French official specialist ASD clinics. Its development followed rigorous scientific guidelines, via blind ratings, inclusion of a controle group, clinical cohorts’ follow-up and use of gold standard tools during final diagnostic assessment. Results indicated a value of 0.94 for specificity and 0.83 in terms of sensibility, allowing for differential screening between risk of ASD and probability of another (neuro)developmental pathology. 

Article relating to the exploratory scientific study : Carlier, S., Kurzeja, N., Ducenne, L., Pauwen, N., Leys, C., & Delvenne, V. (2017). Differential profile of four groups of children referred to an autism diagnostic service in Belgium: Autism-specific hallmarks. Journal of intellectual Disabilities. DOI:10.1177/1744629517713516.  

Article relating to the validation study : Carlier, S., Ducenne, L., Stanciu, R., Deconinck, N., Wintgens, A., Orêve,M-J., & Delvenne, V. Improving autism screening in French-speaking countries: Validation of the Autism Discriminative Tool, a teacher-rated questionnaire for clinicians' use. Submitted. 

Orderings and prices

Our auto-edition politic makes the ADT affordable, in order to promote its use among professionals:
Belgium: 85 €  (all inclusive)
France, Luxembourg, Switzerland: 90 € (all inclusive)    
Canada: 95 € (all inclusive)                                                                                                                                 

Prices for other coutries on demand. To purchase the manual and forms, download the ordering form and send it to adt.autism@yahoo.com.

ASD teams interested in validating an italian, english or spanish version are welcome to contact me. 

 

 

Sophie Carlier

Sophie Carlier holds a Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology and several complementary university degrees in child psychology. She started her career in Great-Britain at the end of the 90’s, with a special interest for autism spectrum disorders, learning disabilities and its co-morbidities (PLD + mental health) and behavioural problems. Back in Belgium, she pursued her clinical community work, in combination with private practice, teaching and team supervision. Sophie Carlier joined the Queen Fabiola Children’s University Hospital (Brussels) in 2007, where she works at both the Autism Reference Center (third level diagnostic team) and its early intervention unit based on the Early Start Denver Model. She dedicated her last years to the issue of autism screening, and how to improve its efficacy.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/sophie-carlier-22652015b/

 

For more information:

adt.autism@yahoo.com

L’Autism Discriminative Tool ou ADT est un outil de dépistage des troubles du spectre autistique principalement destiné aux professionnels de la santé de deuxième ligne ou aux services en contact avec des enfants présentant des difficultés développementales. Premier test de dépistage basé sur le DSM-5 et particulièrement détaillé, il cible les enfants dits « à risque» qui fréquentent l’enseignement maternel.

Présentation

L’ADT est composé de 35 items basés sur l’absence ou la présence de comportements précis, dont 26 sont utilisés dans une optique de dépistage. Il est complété par les enseignants de maternelle mais coté et interprété par les médecins spécialisés dans le développement de l’enfant (ex: neuropédiatres, pédopsychiatres). Toutefois, en l'absence d'un médecin de référence, l'ADT peut égalemement être utilisé par les paramédicaux (ex: psychologues), les équipes de prévention/protection de l'enfance, les services d'accompagnement, les centres psycho-médico-sociaux, les centres de santé mentale ou toute autre équipe en contact avec des enfants présentant un développement atypique. Ce questionnaire, rapide et facile d’utilisation, permet d’éclairer le clinicien quant à la nécessité d’adresser l’enfant vers un centre ressources autisme pour une mise au point diagnostique. A défaut d'un dépistage en amont et, en dernier recours, l'ADT peut être utilisé par les centres ressources autisme afin de déterminer la pertinence des demandes de bilan et/ou de les prioriser.

 

Développement

L'ADT est le résultat de plusieurs années de recherche effectuées dans le cadre d'une thèse de doctorat à l'Université Libre de Bruxelles. Il a été créé suite au constat de l’absence de dépistage des TSA dans la plupart des pays francophones. Sa validation s’est faite en 2 étapes, avec une première étude exploratoire et une seconde étude prospective. La phase de validation a notamment rassemblé 126 enfants de 2 ans 1/2 à 6 ans 1/2 en attente d’un bilan diagnostique auprès de 3 centres ressources autisme belges et français. Son développement s’est voulu rigoureusement scientifique, via des cotations à l’aveugle, l'inclusion d'un groupe contrôle, un suivi des cohortes cliniques et le respect des standards internationaux lors du processus diagnostique final. Au terme de cette étude, une valeur de 0.94 a été obtenue pour la spécificité et 0.83 en termes de sensibilité, permettant ainsi de différencier risque de TSA et probabilité d'une autre pathologie (neuro)développementale.

Article scientifique étude exploratoire : Carlier, S., Kurzeja, N., Ducenne, L., Pauwen, N., Leys, C., & Delvenne, V. (2017). Differential profile of four groups of children referred to an autism diagnostic service in Belgium: Autism-specific hallmarks. Journal of intellectual Disabilities. DOI:10.1177/1744629517713516.  

Article scientifique étude de validation: Carlier, S., Ducenne, L., Stanciu, R., Deconinck, N., Wintgens, A., Orêve,M-J., & Delvenne, V. Improving autism screening in French-speaking countries: Validation of the Autism Discriminative Tool, a teacher-rated questionnaire for clinicians'use. Soumis. 

 

Commandes et tarifs

Notre choix d'auto-édition permet de proposer l'ADT a un prix raisonnable et ainsi promouvoir son utilisation :

Belgique : 85 € (TTC)
France, Luxembourg, Suisse : 90 € (TTC)  
Canada : 95 € (TTC)                                                                                                                                                          

Prix pour les autres pays sur demande. Pour commander le manuel d'utilisation et les protocoles d'investigation, téléchargez le bon de commande et le renvoyer à adt.autism@yahoo.com.

Les équipes diagnostiques intéressées à valider une version en espagnol, italien ou anglais peuvent me contacter à l'adresse ci-dessous. 

 

Sophie Carlier

Sophie Carlier est Docteure en Psychologie et possède plusieurs diplômes universitaires complémentaires en psychologie de l'enfant. Elle débute sa carrière en Grande-Bretagne fin des années 90. Ses domaines d’intérêt se concentrent autour des troubles du spectre autistique (TSA), la déficience intellectuelle, la question du double diagnostic ou encore les troubles du comportement. De retour en Belgique, elle poursuit le travail clinique sur le terrain, tout en alliant pratique libérale, activités d’enseignement ou encore supervisions/formations auprès des équipes intervenantes. Sophie Carlier rejoint le Centre Ressources Autisme de l’Hôpital Universitaire Des Enfants Reine Fabiola (Bruxelles) en 2007, puis son équipe d’intervention précoce en autisme (modèle de Denver). Ses dernières années ont été consacrées à la question du dépistage des TSA et les moyens à mettre en œuvre pour en améliorer l’efficacité.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/sophie-carlier-22652015b/

Pour tout renseignement:

adt.autism@yahoo.com